everything I've learned about growing, maintaining, styling, and loving long hair

molasses experiment

     I was told by a woman on HairBoutique to try using blackstrap molasses on my hair.  She said it was good for fragile hair.  I had some on hand, so I decided to give it a go.  In my usual way of very accurately precise measuring (haha), I mixed about 2 parts conditioner with 1 part molasses.  I warmed the molasses a little before mixing so it wouldn’t be so thick.  After mixing it with conditioner, it was hardly sticky at all.  I wet my hair under the faucet with warm water, squeezed it with a towel so it wouldn’t be dripping, and smeared the mixture all through my hair, concentrating on the ends.  I clipped it up for about 30 minutes, then followed my normal washing routine.  My hair feels softer than usual (like when I do a deep oil treatment).  It still bears a faint smell of molasses, the smell of blackstrap is so strong, but it’s not too bad.
~later~
     My hair feels perfectly normal now.  The extra softness went away as it dried.  (that’s not necessarily a bad thing)  I assume this is something that will benefit long-term rather than showing immediate results.  I have only enough molasses for one more treatment, so I’ll have to put it on my shopping list.  I plan to keep doing it for a while to see if the condition of my ends improves.  I’m not sure how often, maybe once every couple of weeks.  I’m getting back into experimenting again.  I’m learning new things from new people.  And you know me, I have to at least give it a try!

What do you think?