everything I've learned about growing, maintaining, styling, and loving long hair

lose the towel!

A big issue with long hair is damage.  The more damaged your hair is, the harder it is to gain (or maintain) length.  Also, the longer your hair is, the easier it gets damaged.  Some of that, you just can’t help.  It’s nature.  But there are some things that we commonly do on a regular basis that actually cause damage to the hair.  Towel-drying is one of those things.  In case you haven’t noticed, towels have a very rough texture.  This texture grabs your hair and pulls and tugs it in different directions.  This can cause breakage.  And please tell me you’re not rubbing the towel over your hair to dry it!

Several years ago, I stopped using towels on my hair.  I learned first about plopping and started doing that with my towel with great success.  But a towel is heavy and hard to secure in a plop.  When I heard about using a t-shirt, I tried it immediately and never looked back.  A t-shirt is very soft (usually 100% cotton) with a smooth texture that doesn’t grab at your hair.  I had a lot less frizz, and over time, less breakage.  I simply love it!

If you have curly hair and you don’t plop, you should try it!  But drying with a t-shirt is not limited to curly girls!  Here are a couple of videos showing how to use a t-shirt to dry your hair.

This one is for those with straight hair that don’t want to plop.  She made this video at my request!  How sweet! 🙂  By the way, she has some great style tutorials so be sure to check out her youtube channel Torrin Paige

This one is for plopping.  There’s a lot of talking at the beginning, but the plopping explanation starts at about 8 minutes, so you can skip to there if you want.  This is basically how I do it.  You won’t need an extra long shirt, no matter how long your hair is. 

2 responses

  1. Thank you for that informative post! I read about plopping some time ago, tried it out and was not at all happy with it because my hair didn’t dry. The T-shirt does take up water but it stays wet and so the hair can’t dry. Maybe it would be more effective to use a linen cloth because linen dries more quickly than cotton!? For some weeks now I try to plop with tulle fabric so the hair can dry through the holes. For creating prettier curls this works quite well, but the hair doesn’t dry faster either. So your post inspired me to try out the T-shirt again, if you’re so taken with it, it must be good;-)

    February 10, 2013 at 11:49 am

    • Katharina, it doesn’t dry my hair either. It’s probably because the hair is all piled up on top of itself. I leave it in the t-shirt for 15-20 minutes. That’s long enough to sort of set the curls, and to soak up enough water that my hair doesn’t drip. It takes a few hours of air drying after that.

      February 10, 2013 at 3:55 pm

What do you think?

