everything I've learned about growing, maintaining, styling, and loving long hair

fake a crown braid on yourself

~~~~~

I tried this and it works beautifully!

IMG_5754  IMG_5759

I was finishing it up literally as we were walking out the door so I didn’t get to tweak it like I wanted to.  I didn’t realize how lopsided it was until I got home and took these pics.  It turned out that way because I just pinned the braid tails on either side of the dutch braids, and the right one was thicker.  If I’d had more time, I would have pinned it a little differently.

IMG_5765In spite of that, I think it looks awesome and I love the way it turned out!  Like she says in the video, I agree that it looks like I have a lot longer hair because there are 3 layers of braid in some areas.  I will definitely be keeping this one in mind since I’ve never really effectively been able to do a real crown braid on myself.

3 responses

  1. I think it looks lovely, lopsided or no 🙂 I tried this, but I just don’t have the face shape for it. I love this girl’s videos though! Great post 🙂

    June 9, 2013 at 4:38 pm

    • Thank you! I feel like I have to have bangs for it to look right on me. If I pull my bangs back into the braid, I look funny. 🙂

      June 9, 2013 at 5:24 pm

      • I never thought about leaving my bangs out! I should give it a shot. They are down to my mouth now, since I’m growing them out, but I still like to leave them down sometimes as side bangs. It softens some styles!

        July 5, 2013 at 6:39 pm

What do you think?

