everything I've learned about growing, maintaining, styling, and loving long hair

length update

I measured my hair for the first time in a couple of years.  It’s now at 41.5 inches!  The tips just reach the bottom of my bum.  A new record for me!  😀  I need to trim, though, to thicken up the ends.  I’ll probably be doing that soon which will put me back up to about tailbone length again.

Here’s what my length looks like now.  The ends look too thin, I’m not happy with that.  I’ve been trying to do better on my hair care, getting back into routine DT’s and microtrims and all that.  I had also sort of cut a few layers to try to lighten the weight of the top layer so it’s curlier.  It hasn’t helped very much so I’m going to let them grow back out to give more fullness at the ends.  My hair is getting long enough that it’s going to weigh down the top no matter what I do.  I think I’m ok with that.  Looking back at pics, it looked its best about 6 years ago and I would really like to get back to that.  I don’t know if I can without cutting it back to that length though.  Crossing my fingers…….

5 responses

  1. Amy

    How exciting to reach a new length. 🙂 Curly hair is nice because it can hide thinner hair so well. Curly hair always looks thick.

    December 14, 2012 at 3:46 pm

  2. Oh it’s lovely! The ends are thin, but it’s still quite nice. I reached waist length last winter, but because I didn’t know what I was doing, the ends were very frizzled and thin- I had to cut off three inches. I have been micro-trimming and coconut oiling, this time around, and it looks WAY better! I’m almost there. Then, on to classic! 😀 Live and learn, eh?

    June 20, 2013 at 6:55 pm

    • Thank you! I’ve done a lot of “living and learning” with my hair. 🙂

      June 20, 2013 at 6:57 pm

  3. wow really long! My hair got to that length but ended up cutting it because it kind of got thin at the ends also. I should’ve known better to actually trim more often because the ends would just break off all the time… and split ends going up the hair.. Lovely hair you have though! 🙂

    September 18, 2016 at 3:47 pm

    • Thank you.

      September 19, 2016 at 10:04 am

What do you think?

