everything I've learned about growing, maintaining, styling, and loving long hair

some things about using henna

Here are a few things I’ve learned since I started using henna to dye my hair:

  1. Wear dark clothes or something you don’t mind getting stained while applying the henna.
  2. Wear long sleeves, long pants, and socks if you’re applying it yourself.  It can get messy.
  3. Rub a thin layer of vaseline (I use vegetable-based) on your ears and around your hairline before you get started.  This will help lessen staining on your skin.
  4. Applying it at night and sleeping on it is easier than trying to go about my day with 5lbs of mud on my head.
  5. If you leave it in overnight, place a dark towel over your pillow to catch any leaks.
  6. After rinsing out the henna, use sweet almond oil to remove stains on skin.
  7. Use dark colored or old towels the next few times you wash your hair.  It will continue to bleed orange for a few washes.  Even if you don’t use a towel on your hair, the orange water can run down your neck and back and stain the towel you’re using to dry your body.  Just saying… if you don’t want your pretty white towels stained, be very careful!
  8. Be careful when air drying your hair for the same reason, it will drip orange and stain your shirt.  Drape a towel over your shoulders or wear a dark shirt.

Before and after using sweet almond oil to remove henna stains around my hairline.  >

It doesn’t always take it away completely, but it works much better than soap.  I’ve also found that my Yes To Cucumbers Towelettes work great for this too!

I’ve decided that my hair is too long to henna myself.  I end up with tangles and my hair matting together as I try to section it.  This time I spent almost as much time detangling as I did applying henna.  Last time was bad, this time was worse.  I was so frustrated I almost cried and my scalp ended up being sore!  So from now on, I’ll have to get my sister to put it in for me.  (or con my husband into trying his hand at it!)  I think I will still do root touch-ups myself, but when I do the whole thing I will need help.

4 responses

  1. oh, I like it! 🙂

    November 20, 2012 at 12:29 pm

  2. Great tips!
    Just wondering… Would you really want him doing it for you..? Haha! 😉

    April 24, 2013 at 2:28 pm

    • hmmm… We might have to try just root touch ups first. 🙂

      April 24, 2013 at 2:30 pm

      • LOL! Let me know how that works out for ya! 😉

        April 24, 2013 at 2:33 pm

What do you think?

