everything I've learned about growing, maintaining, styling, and loving long hair

micro braids

Well, I left my braids in for a full 10 days.  I “washed” my hair 3 times with my braids in.  The first time, as I mentioned before, was just a thorough rinsing with water.  The other times I literally squished conditioner into my scalp and into the braids.  I didn’t rub or massage it at all because I didn’t want to disturb the braids, just patted it on and pressed it in.  I let the conditioner sit for a few minutes and then rinsed it out thoroughly.  It felt really good, actually!

It was so nice having the braids in because I really didn’t have to worry too much about fixing my hair.  No combing, no styling products, no frizz…. My hair was always presentable for me to go out in public.  It’s perfect for this hot summer because the air could actually reach my scalp and keep  me cooler.  I would’ve left them in longer, but I was starting to get a lot of flakes along my front hairline.

I think adding in the yarn was really helpful.  It kept the braids from getting as fuzzy.  It also protected the tips from the hair bands, the yarn absorbed most of the tension so it kept the ends from being damaged.  But, on the other hand, it made the braids much more difficult to undo.  My husband and I had to pick them out with hairpins which took about 3-4 hours.

I wish I would’ve seen this tutorial before I took my braids out.  I would love to have tried it!  part 1  part 2

2 responses

  1. I love this idea! How terribly frizzy was it when you unravelled them??

    June 9, 2013 at 4:43 pm

    • It wasn’t really terrible. I probably could have left them longer, but I felt it was getting to the point of not looking “nice” anymore. It would be amazing if I could just leave my hair that way all summer! I would love that.

      June 9, 2013 at 5:27 pm

What do you think?

