everything I've learned about growing, maintaining, styling, and loving long hair

french crown on me!

I finally effectively created a crown braid on myself!  I say “effectively” because I wouldn’t call it truly successful, and I’ve by no means mastered it!  I’ve tried it before a few times and ended in complete failure.  I think the main reason it worked this time is because my hair had been flat ironed.  Being straight made it easier to work with and keep smooth.  There were also a couple technique alterations that helped.  1. different starting point and sectioning than when I braid on others, and 2. braiding loose.  It was much easier to do the crown on myself by doing it loose.  I didn’t have to worry about trying to flatten out all the bumps, I just worked with them.  (I apologize for the poor quality of the photos, the bathroom has bad lighting.)

I can’t say I was totally satisfied with how it looked.  I was just really happy that I did it and it looked acceptable enough to go out in public! 🙂

I used these two pics as inspiration.

    

2 responses

  1. Well… if my opinion is of any importance… I liked the way it turned out. 🙂

    March 25, 2012 at 2:47 am

    • Thanks! 🙂

      March 31, 2012 at 3:09 am

What do you think?

