everything I've learned about growing, maintaining, styling, and loving long hair

waterfall braid

I don’t have much time right now, but I wanted to throw together a post to show you a new style I tried today.  As I said before, the few times a year that I flat iron my hair I want to try new looks that I can’t do (or can’t do very well) on my curly hair.  Yesterday, I styled it after this inspirations photo:   The first try didn’t work, but I liked the way it looked on the second try.  Unfortunately, I didn’t get a photo.  Today, I tried the waterfall braid.  This can be done quite successfully on curly or curled hair, but I have a reeeeeeeeally hard time making it come out right on myself.  I followed the video tutorial below with a slight variation.  Instead of coiling the entire free length of the braid into a “flower”, I just did one loop and pinned it.  It gave the same basic look without me having to braid all the way to the end and then trying to coil 2 feet of tiny braid.  I am pretty happy with how this turned out!

 

3 responses

  1. Mikayla

    Hello, I was just wondering whether the waterfall braid would look okay with curled hair… I want to do this braid, but I hate my hair when it’s straight.
    Thank you!

    October 29, 2011 at 4:18 am

    • I have seen pictures of waterfall braids on curled hair and it looked pretty. (the hair was loose curls, not sure how it would look with tight curls) I find it hard to do on myself and make it look good. I think I could do it on someone else with curly hair and have a better chance of making it look good since I would be able to see what I was doing. If you give it a try, let me know!

      October 29, 2011 at 4:57 pm

  2. Hopefully I can do this. I need some new ways to put my hair up.

    December 4, 2011 at 2:00 pm

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers