everything I've learned about growing, maintaining, styling, and loving long hair

2nd-day wedding hair :)

I went to my own wedding with 2nd-day hair!!

By the time I finished doing flowers and packing my bags for the honeymoon, it was about 3am.  It had been a long day and I had been on my feet way too much.  My muscles ached.  I was exhausted.  So I relaxed in a hot bath (with sea salt and essential oil).  Yes, at 3am.  I went ahead and washed my hair then because I knew the next morning would be too filled with pedicures, last minute decorating, etc. for my hair to have time to air dry in a decent state.  And I would much rather show up for my wedding with less than stunning 2nd-day hair than damp hair that I’m not sure what it would dry into.

So here’s what I did.

1. CO washed.    2. combed/rinsed in the shower with my head upright.  For a long time I’ve been doing this upside down, but I’ve been experimenting and found that I get better curl formation on the ends if I do it upright.    3. squeezed excess water from hair and scrunched in a tiny bit of shea butter to ends.    4. applied Curl Keeper (hair upside down)    5. plopped with a t-shirt no more than 5 minutes, just enough to keep hair from being dripping wet.    6. smoothed on and squeezed in L.A. Natural gel, trying not to disturb the clumps too much, scrunching with the same wet t-shirt.    7. plopped again for about 10-15 minutes (same t-shirt).    8. let it air dry, handling it as little as possible, for about 30 minutes.  Then I went to bed.  I threw my hair up over my pillow to keep from sleeping on it and smashing it.

The next day:

1. I did nothing at all with my hair from 7am until around noon when I started getting ready for the wedding.  It didn’t look bad at all, just fluffy.    2. I began by spritzing all over with lime water to dampen it.    3. Then I smoothed on a light application of AVG, doing spot touch-ups on frizzy/fluffy curls.    4. I spritzed all over with Curl Locking Spray and scrunched with the t-shirt.  5. I plopped about 15 minutes with the t-shirt while I began putting on makeup.    7. I took it down and let it air dry while finishing my makeup.    8. I found a 1/2 inch curling iron that had been packed away in my hair stuff.  It turned out to be the perfect size to blend in with my natural curls!  I used it to touch up some straighter pieces, especially around my hairline where my hair is only slightly wavy.    9. It was an extremely windy day and the wedding was outdoors, so I decided to use mini claw clips instead of trusting bobby pins to stay in place.  I did basically the same style as in the trial run, just using clips as the base. I used a few bobby pins for fine-tuning.    10. To finish off, I did an over-all spray with Curl Locking Spray.

I ended up not using the headband.  I tried it and it just seemed to be too much and take away from the over-all look.

4 responses

  1. Pingback: I need help! wedding hair...... - CurlTalk

  2. Pingback: wedding hair help - CurlTalk

  3. RacerWife7

    It came out beautiful!!! :o) Congratulations!!

    April 20, 2011 at 8:38 pm

What do you think?

