everything I've learned about growing, maintaining, styling, and loving long hair

2nd day hair

For those of you who don’t have curly hair, you totally will not understand the concept of “2nd day hair”.  The first day, being wash day, usually looks good.  Getting it to look good the second day takes some work.

Anyway, Saturday I got some miraculous 2nd day curls! (even though it was technically not the second day, but that’s beside the point)  I was invited last minute to an event.  I had done a wash-n-go that morning which never turns out good.  It got all poofy and I ended up putting it in a messy bun.  Let’s just say when I took it down that evening, it looked pretty sad.  I didn’t have time to start from scratch.  I had about 30 minutes to get ready.  It just wasn’t happening.  I decided to try something.  I sprayed my hair down pretty good with my water/lime juice mix, slathered on AVG, scrunched it with a t-shirt, and then plopped with the t-shirt.  I left it up while I put on makeup and changed clothes.  When I took it out of the t-shirt, I had very nice curl formation and lots of bounce.  I spritzed Curl Locking Spray all over to help keep the volume.  My hair looked awesome!  And that awesomeness from Saturday night has now lasted into Monday. 🙂 Success.

One response

  1. Layla

    I find my hair is nice in the second day… less frizzy.

    My hair is moderately curly, though. Maybe it’s different for people with really tight curls.

    March 4, 2011 at 7:30 pm

What do you think?

