everything I've learned about growing, maintaining, styling, and loving long hair

what did I do?

I was just looking over some pics of my hair from the past years and I wondered, “What in the world did I do to my hair back then to make it look that good?!” If I could only get my hair to look like that for my wedding day, I would be perfectly satisfied!

Was it because I was using a different conditioner then?  Was it because the water I was using was different?  Was it the way I dried it?  I sure wish I could remember exactly what I did on that particular day to get such great curls!  Ok, I know part of it is because I was taking much better care of my hair back then.  Having a full-time job keeps me from having the time to sit around the house wearing deep conditioning treatments! lol  Maybe that’s all it was.  Maybe it really doesn’t depend so much on the right product, but just giving it the attention it needs.  Maybe my hair really isn’t all that different now – maybe I just get jealous and dissatisfied from looking at pictures of women with shiny perfectly springy curls, hoping and imagining that I could make my hair look like that somehow.  Looking back over the old pics of my growth progress, I remembered that back then I was just happy that it was long!  It was such a journey for me to go from being tired of my hair, ready to chop off a foot of it, and losing length from breakage, to thoroughly enjoying and loving my hair and seeing it begin to steadily gain length.  I was always experimenting with recipes and products.  I guess it has sort of gotten old for me now and I’m subconsciously looking for a new and exciting discovery.  I need to stop obsessing and just enjoy it the way it is.  I mean, my hair looked fabulous back then and I certainly wasn’t obsessing over it (well, not the curl anyway).

2 responses

  1. Layla

    I use this stuff called Curl Keeper (If you look up “curly hair solutions” you can find it.) I haven’t looked at the ingredients to see what chemicals it contains… and I kind of don’t want to.

    I used to have really long hair, a few inches past my butt (although I was one of the shortest in my class in grade 6.) My mom would put it in a ponytail/braid (still, in grade 6) and she had trouble with it because it was so long and thick.

    I’m thinking of growing my (boob length :P) hair. How long does it take you to wash it? On days when I wash my hair I think I take 30 minutes in the shower.

    March 4, 2011 at 7:39 pm

  2. I have Curl Keeper too. I don’t use it all the time, but definitely on special occasions. 🙂

    My wash routine takes me about 10-15 minutes. (not counting applying products afterward)

    March 6, 2011 at 12:27 am

What do you think?

