everything I've learned about growing, maintaining, styling, and loving long hair

needing feedback/advice

Alright.  I did a rough draft of my wedding hair today.  (and I mean rough!)  It took me about 5 minutes to throw it together.  I basically wanted to see how everything worked together and if my concept was feasible.  I have to brag a little…… I found my veil on ebay for $30 (new) and my headband at Claire’s for $12.

Later on, I’m going to try a more realistic rough draft (more like a dress rehearsal) using styling products and all.  Part of me just wants to give in and go to a salon and have it done.  The other part of me cringes at the thought.  The closest salon listed on NaturallyCurly.com as specializing in curly hair is almost an hour and a half away.  Otherwise I would be very very tempted to go.

Here are a few pics of my draft:

Close enough?  Any ideas for improvement?

I also need some thoughts on styling products.  I’m going to use Curl Keeper, it makes my hair coil and clump much better.  I have a little that someone sent me to try out.  I have enough left for about 2 uses.  I’m trying to save it for the wedding day, but if I have to do many trial runs I may have to break down and buy some more.  I haven’t had a lot of luck finding a styling product with all-day hold.  I have tried Curly Hair Solutions gel, Rock Hard gel, and Giovanni gel.  I got the best results with Giovanni, but not consistent results.  It seems that sometimes it works and sometimes it just don’t.  Any ideas?  I need something that’s going to keep the frizz at bay and hold my style for about 5-6 hours.  I’m trying to tell myself that it won’t hurt to use a “harmful” product on my hair for my wedding day.  It’s only harmful if used on a regular basis.  One day won’t kill my hair.  But I’m at a loss as to what to try.  What about a defuser?  Does drying with a defuser help hold the style and prevent frizz?  (I’ve never used a blow dryer.)  I need some advice from you other curlies out there!

4 responses

  1. Pingback: I need help! wedding hair...... - CurlTalk

  2. Pingback: wedding hair help - CurlTalk

  3. Mausi

    Hi! I saw your post on NC.com, and I had to come and be nosy. And now I’m going to be long-winded:

    So, I adore the headband, just needed to get that said. (And YAY for the cost – brag away.)

    I lovelovelove the way you want to do your hair. So pretty, and I like that it looks good with or without the veil. (And could you please tell me how you did it?) My weddings were updos and I hated the way they looked in the pictures, and I regret not keeping it down and pretty the way yours is.

    As for CK, I love it and, like you, get amazing results from it. (PS, I buy mine by the liter, so if you just want a small amount, we can talk.)

    I get my best results from Rock Hard, but nothing consistent. As for a defuser, I can’t use it and get frizz-free. YMMV – give it a shot. I have better luck with plopping and quasi-clipping than a defuser.

    My personal opinion is that it’s your wedding and your day. One day (plus test runs) is not going to kill your hair. I’ve stood up in 3 weddings since going CG, and each time I used at least hairspray and a curling iron. And sulfate shampooed the next day. I needed a little extra moisture after, but no long term issues.

    So I’m going with the “it’s just a day” argument. Just keep trying stuff – there’s a lot on the swap boards at NC.com, and I have some Boots and KCCC that I can sample out if you’re interested in trying them.

    Try out salons – I’ve not had luck with them, but that’s because the stylist and I had no “history,” so she/he always did what they were taught for “formal curls” – straighten and then curling iron. Not everyone/everywhere is like this, thankfully. Other curlies I know have had beautiful results without the whole straighten first thing.

    Good luck, and CONGRATULATIONS!!

    January 5, 2011 at 9:25 pm

    • I know that once in a while won’t ruin my hair, I just have to keep reminding myself of that. 🙂 I have such a tendency to stay away from harmful products. Habits are hard to break. lol

      Thank for the input! Send me a pm on NC.com and we can talk more about samples.

      January 6, 2011 at 2:06 pm

What do you think?

