everything I've learned about growing, maintaining, styling, and loving long hair

Giovanni gel experiment


1st try: Followed my normal routine, replacing AVG with Giovanni L.A. Natural Gel.  I think it’s too sticky to effectively use it on dry hair.  It worked ok, but not great.2nd try: (shown in pic) This time I applied it immediately after plopping while my hair was still wet.  Success.  Mostly.  I got about the same amount of curl formation as I do with AVG, but better hold.  It lasted all day without getting fluffy.  However, the hair on top of my head went flat.  Also, I think I didn’t apply it thoroughly enough because I had spots that were frizzy after it dried.  The pic is how it looked at the end of the day.

Note: Very easy to get 2nd and 3rd day hair with this.  I used a little AVG to touch up.


What do you think?

