everything I've learned about growing, maintaining, styling, and loving long hair

finally did my henna again

 
     I did it!  All by myself this time!  What a chore………  I can’t believe there are so many of you who do this yourself on a regular basis.  Then again, maybe I’m too much of a perfectionist. lol  My hair felt much better this time than it did last time.  There are a few things that might have caused this: 
1.  I used a different type of henna this time.  Last time I used henna for African hair which is a finer powder so it’s not so harsh on delicate or damaged hair. (African hair is generally dry and brittle)  This time I used a new one that has recently been added to the order form specifically for long hair.  The description sounded pretty much the same… more finely ground powder for delicate ends and easier rinsing.  This one was less expensive than the African one and sounded just as good.  My hair felt better, but I don’t know if it’s because of the different henna powder or if it’s because of something else I did differently.  The color wasn’t as intense as with the African type though.  I was a little disappointed.
2.  I didn’t coat the ends as completely and thoroughly as last time.  Partly because with my hair being so long it was hard to get it all the way down the length by myself.  That seems like it would be the easiest part, but when you’re coating your hair with thick mud it starts tangling just from moving it around.  And since I had already used henna before and the color hadn’t totally faded, then ends were still pretty red so I wasn’t too concerned about not getting it completely covered.  I did take it all the way to the ends, just not as thick.  So maybe since the ends weren’t coated so thick with it, it didn’t dry it out like last time?
3.  I didn’t wash my hair 5 times this time! lol  Last time I used conditioner to help rinse it out, and I rinsed it for like 20 minutes.  After it dried, I washed it again because it felt like it wasn’t all out….. anyway you get the point.  This time I rinsed and conditioned 2 or 3 times until there was no more actual mud coming out in the water, then conditioned heavily and rinsed lightly, followed by my usual ACV rinse and scrunching in a little shea butter.  My hair felt great!! 
     So which one made the most difference?  I have no idea!  I would like to try the African type again and see how it does, because I do like the brighter color better.
     Another thing I did differently is that I made a thicker paste this time.  Last time I had trouble with it seeping out around my ears and down my neck.  I had to keep it wiped off so it wouldn’t stain my skin.  It got really annoying and I barely made it 4 hours.  This time I didn’t have any trouble at all with that and I left it on almost 5 1/2 hours.  I also bought a larger amount so I have plenty left over for root touch-ups too.
     I’ve gotten so many compliments on it!  I’m really happy I did it again. 
What do you think?

