everything I've learned about growing, maintaining, styling, and loving long hair

hi… can I braid your hair?

 
     I was shopping in Wal-Mart a few days ago and something happened to me that I thought you might enjoy hearing about.  I was walking along with my sister when this group of five or six young teenage girls passed by.  They, of course, were loud and bouncy and giggly.  I laughed and told my sister I was glad she didn’t act like that anymore (she’s 17 now ).  Right then, the girls slowed down and some of thems began to turn their heads back toward us whispering.  I could hear certain words like hair and ask her between giggles.  As we got closer, one of the girls stepped forward and spoke to me.  "Hi.  We’re doing a scavenger hunt.  Can I braid your hair?"  I just kind of looked at her, not knowing what to say.  She said, "It doesn’t have to be all of it, just a little piece.  Would that be ok?"  I agreed and they all gathered around me.  She took a very small section of my hair and braided it as one of the others snapped pictures with a digital camera.  She kept saying "your hair is so pretty"  and "I wish I had hair like yours" and stuff like that.  She thanked me and they disappeared.  I later wished I would have asked them to email me a pic to post on here.  That would have been great….
One response

  1. Monica

    Wow, that\’s so awesome! I hope someone does something like that to me some day! Or just randomly comments about my hair. ^_^ I\’m trying to grow it out, but it\’s definitely slow going. Your hair is BEAUTIFUL! I\’m jealous!

    January 10, 2008 at 7:26 pm

What do you think?

