everything I've learned about growing, maintaining, styling, and loving long hair

update

 
     Let’s see… Wow, it’s been two months since I’ve posted!  Almost every minute has been filled lately.  I have finally found time to post my newest photos.  I was actually a little surprised to see how long it looked. lol  I’ve trimmed it since taking the pictures.  I didn’t want to trim it until after pictures because it was the longest it’s ever been.  It had started feeling very dry and brittle on the ends.  I washed it with baking soda and did a deep conditioning treatment to see if it would improve, but it didn’t.  The ends were getting really uneven and thin as well, possibly from growing so much faster than it used to, so it needed a trim anyway.  So I trimmed off about 2 inches.  I cut it to right at my tailbone when pulled straight.  The ends look and feel much better now. 
     As I mentioned, the growth rate has increased drastically over the past several months.  I contribute it to the biotin and folic acid vitamin supplements I’ve been taking since last November.  This year, I’ve been averaging a gain of an inch per month!  That’s amazing for me!!  Before, I was lucky to get the "normal" half inch per month.  I was beginning to wonder if I’d ever be able to reach my goal of 40 inches because it seemed to have almost stopped gaining length altogether.  I was only half inch away when I trimmed it.  I would’ve just let it go to hit 40, but the ends were really bad.  Anyway, I hope to see 40 inches soon!
    
One response

  1. Gord

    hey I have not been by for ages,then again . . . you had a long blog break! The hair, of course, is gorgeous. Nice photos. How did the b-day dinner go back in April???

    November 2, 2007 at 8:22 pm

What do you think?

