everything I've learned about growing, maintaining, styling, and loving long hair

camp

 
     I went to youth church camp last week.  The facilities were less than what I’d been used to, but it wasn’t bad.  (I got a little spoiled at the previous camp)  I’d never been there before, so it was a new experience for me.  It’s a neat place.  It was hot, but I thoroughly enjoyed being outdoors all week.  That’s one thing I really miss with having a job, I can’t spend much time in the sun and fresh air. 
     Of course, we had no air conditioning and it was in the 90’s all week.  Needless to say, up-do’s were a necessity.  I did wear my hair down a couple times for a few hours in the morning before it got too hot.  Other than that, I wore it completely up.  I intended to pack a bandana or two, but I forgot.  I was wishing later that I had one because the top of my head got sooo hot sitting out in the sun all afternoon keeping score of the volleyball games! 
     One thing I thought was interesting, the water seemed to make my hair feel funny.  It felt almost like something gooey was building up on it.  It felt strange but not bad.  And it kept the humidity from frizzing it up so that was kinda nice.  So…. I don’t know what the deal was, but I shampooed it when I got home and it’s back to normal.  My hair behaved pretty well all week, no major issues.  I got lots of compliments from the others in our dorm.  I think the funniest one was "your hair looks great even when you first get out of bed!" 
     At first I thought I was the only one there with "long" hair.  The majority of the girls and women had hair no longer than their collarbone, a few had mid-back length.  Then I noticed a small group of girls (yes, all in one group) who had lower-back length hair.  One in particular had extremely thick beautiful hair.  The second day I noticed my "hair twin".  Her hair was exaclty the same length and texture as mine!  But we weren’t quite twins because hers was a little lighter and not as thick.  The two of us had the longest hair in the whole camp, beating everyone by at least 6 inches.  My sister noted that this girl even styled her hair similar to the way I do.  I thought that was funny.  Wish I’d gotten a chance to talk hair with her.
     One of the girls in our group asked to me french braid her hair the first day.  That started it, a line formed and I was busy the rest of the afternoon.  I asked one of them how she wanted it.  She asked "do you know how to french braid in 2 braids?"  (LOL!!)  I said "I can braid it just about any way you can imagine.  You tell me how you want it and I can probably do it.  And if I haven’t done it before, I’m willing to try it."  (I felt fairly confident they wouldn’t think to ask for a 10-strand spiral or something like that)  I don’t think she believed me.  Later in the week, I did one girl’s hair in a dutch crown.  I think everyone that walked past her stared.  Many of them complimented her.  The mother of the girl I mentioned earlier with the very thick hair actually stopped and asked how it was done so she could do her girls’ hair that way.  I gave her a mini demonstration and she was ecstatic to learn!  The girl whose hair I braided said it was weird getting so much attention, that’s never happened to her before.
One response

  1. Amanda

    Sounds like you had a blast! If you\’re ever in VA, I\’d love to have a crown braid done! :oÞ

    August 7, 2007 at 6:16 am

What do you think?

