everything I've learned about growing, maintaining, styling, and loving long hair

hair toys

 Let me open my box for you to see……
The pictures below are by no means the extent of my “collection” but they’re the items I use the most.  I’ve included a description as well as why I like using them.
~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

(left to right)
giant heavy-duty bobby pins – I got these on clearance at K-Mart several years ago.  I have 6 silver ones and 6 black ones.  And I wish so bad that I’d bought all they had.  They’re the best!  Great for my thick hair.  
extra long bobby pins –  these are kinda puny (only good for 2 or 3 uses) but they’re cheap at the dollar store and the extra length comes in handy.
regular bobby pins – I use these for just about everything
hair pins – great for curly up-do’s to loosely hold curls in place

jeweled bobby pins – I love these!  They dress up any hairstyle.  I use them alot for pinning my bangs over to the side.  They’re made to last, so they hold tight.

I never use uncovered rubber bands or covered ones with metal clasps.

small covered bands – I generally use these on the end of a braid

large covered bands – I use these for ponytails, I prefer the thick ones because they hold better without being too tight

tiny silicone bands – I use these for the end of microbraids or when I want the tie to be hidden (alot of times the covered bands are too bulky to hide)


(top to bottom)

1. homemade with a dow rod and a pencil sharpener

2. genuine porcupine quills (delicate but holds well)

3. wood, extra long, almost too long

4. clear plastic w/jewels, my first purchased pair (can you see where I’ve superglued them back together?)

5. steel and marble, by far my most used

6. metal and rock, not as good quality as the steel ones but I love the way they look in my hair

7. this one is too short to hold a style well, so I don’t wear it often, but it’s beautiful


hair fork – these work well if you can’t get a hairstick to hold, I like them just for variety

At present, this is the only one I own.  I had one before with a beautiful butterfly but it broke.  I hope to add more forks to my collection soon.


(clockwise)

jeweled barretts – great for clipping back bangs, also for pulling back a small portion of hair

hair snaps – these were wonderful when I was growing out my bangs, when I put my hair up I’d snap these in a line across the top

mini claw clips – I have these in almost every imaginable color, they can be used in so many ways

butterfly clips – I also have these in a variety of styles and colors, they can dress up a style easily

4 responses

  1. camille

    nice hair accessories. Can you post a link where to purchase? I love your writing style and your blog is enlightening.

    October 19, 2011 at 1:00 am

    • I buy most of my accessories at places like Walmart and Claire’s. I’m glad you like my blog! 🙂

      October 19, 2011 at 4:13 pm

  2. hi sara.. i found ur blog really amAzing..i would like to use few of the photographs in my blog.. hope u would give me permission..

    June 21, 2012 at 6:16 am

    • I appreciate you asking. Feel free to share my photos on your blog, just please link back to my blog when you do. Thanks!

      June 21, 2012 at 8:44 am

What do you think?

