everything I've learned about growing, maintaining, styling, and loving long hair

VO5

     Well, I decided to try VO5 conditioner because it was recommended by some long-haired friends on HairBoutique.  It’s cheap – 98 cents a bottle!  And it has no silicone!  And since the aloe conditioner that I recently discovered is like four times the price of my previous conditioner (twice the price for half the amount), I thought I might try alternating it with VO5 to make it last longer. 
     I never really cared for VO5 because it always just smelled like soap, and kind of a medicinal smell.  I don’t like that.  I like my shampoo and conditioner to smell like something natural, something real, like herbs or fruit, not chemicals.  (I know, I’m picky.  But it also has to do with my allergies.)  But I was looking at Wal-Mart and noticed that they now have two other products – one that’s lavendar scented, and one that fruit scented.  So I bought the fruit one because the scent was less powerful.  I’ve used it a couple times, and… let’s just say I’m spoiled.  I had to use three times as much to get the same “slip” as my previous conditioners, and when my hair was dry, it felt like I hadn’t used any at all.  Also, the smell wasn’t as pleasant as I was hoping.  It wasn’t a bad smell like the Suave I tried, but more fake/synthetic than I expected.  I was disappointed.  I guess this is one of those cases where you get what you pay for.
     So this is what I decided to do: use like half the bottle (not really) on length only and clip it up to soak as in my usual routine, then rinse and use a little aloe conditioner on the very tips which need it the most.  I’ll keep doing that until I use up the whole bottle of VO5, and then probably not buy any more. 
One response

  1. IegnA

    I think some things depend on hair type and all, but I never cared for V05 either… I did like the Suave that is the same as Biobasics.  It always did realy well on my hair.

    April 10, 2007 at 4:00 am

What do you think?

