everything I've learned about growing, maintaining, styling, and loving long hair

castile soap results

     In November I mentioned that I’d bought a bottle of castile soap to experiment with as shampoo.  It’s much more gentle because it’s made with saponified oils rather than detergents.  I thought that maybe since my hair is so dry that it would help improve that.  Well, the first few times I used it, my hair felt wonderful, but I noticed that it wasn’t rinsing out thoroughly enough.  After my hair dried, I could feel a bit of residue at the back.  I solved this problem by washing my hair half at a time, with it parted down the middle.  This worked beautifully!  (I would recommend this method to anyone with thick hair who has a hard time getting the shampoo to the scalp because of the bulk of hair)  But… I guess it was too gentle for my scalp.  The oil build-up built up at least twice as fast (probably because of the oils in the soap) which was getting nasty and making my head itch.  After using it about 3 weeks, I had to do a clarifying baking soda wash to get rid of it all.  I haven’t used it on my scalp since then.  Now I’m experimenting with using it on the length.  I want to see if it builds up on that as well.  If not, I’ll stick to using castile on the length and regular shampoo on the scalp.
What do you think?

