everything I've learned about growing, maintaining, styling, and loving long hair

update on my hair

 
     My hair’s not doing so great lately.  I’ve been shedding like crazy for the past couple of months.  I can tell the difference in the thickness, which is kinda scary.  I’ve started doing a nettle tea rinse regularly because nettles are supposed to stimulate the scalp and help new hair growth.  Hopefully this is only a phase that will pass soon
     Also, the ends of my hair began to feel like straw because they were so dried out and full of splits.  I couldn’t stand it any longer, so I trimmed it about an inch.  It probably needed more, but that’s all I could bear to part with.  The length is now at 34 1/2 inches.  (click here to see how I measure my hair)  I ran out of shea butter and I need to get some more really bad.  I’ve been using sweet almond oil in the mean time.  It’s just not the same.  And my hair is suffering for it. 
     On top of that, this is a really major allergy season for me, particularly indoor allergies.  This means lots of sinus headaches, which means not wearing my hair up in any way because it makes the headaches worse.  So it’s either wear my hair up and protect it and have a headache, or leave it down to be wind-whipped and dried out and relieve my headache.  Can’t win for losing.
What do you think?

