everything I've learned about growing, maintaining, styling, and loving long hair

my hair story

     I’ve had long hair all my life.  It stayed around mid-back for several years, then really took off as I got close to being a teenager.  It reached hip length when I was 14 and the natural curl was coming in (a puberty thing).  It stayed pretty much the same until I was 19.  That was not a good year for my hair due to some health and emotional issues.  Yes, physical and emotional stress play a big part in the health of your hair.  It slowly got shorter until I had to slump to make it reach my waist.  In ’00 I stumbled across The Long Hair Site and the ladies there helped me so much to know how to really take care of my hair and get it in top condition.   
     I think the biggest challenge or obstacle for me is making my hair healthy enough to grow without breaking off.  I think if I could stop the breakage I’d gain length in leaps and bounds.  My hair is very dry and splits so easy.  I’m trying hard to find out what works the absolute best for my hair.  I’m still learning and experimenting.  All my friends and family are very supportive, although some do think I go to extremes in trying to grow it longer.  Many of my guy friends admire me for it and wish more girls would grow long hair.  I’ve never had anyone ever tell me to cut it.  I get compliments all the time, even from strangers.  We’ll see if it remains so as I get older (I’m only 26 and haven’t reached the old-lady-hair-cut-required age yet). 
     My goal is to make my hair look hip length.  Since it’s curly, it will actually have to be at least 3 or 4 inches longer than that.  It’s currently 35 3/4 inches long.  I haven’t gained any length in the past year or so because I’ve been keeping it trimmed so that the shorter hairs will catch up and the ends won’t be so thin.  I’ll keep you updated….
What do you think?

