everything I've learned about growing, maintaining, styling, and loving long hair

tangle teaser

A few weeks ago, while I was in the process of writing the last post, a friend actually bought a Tangle Teaser for me as a gift.  I very rarely brush or comb my hair while it’s dry, so I finally took the opportunity to try it out today.  In preparation for a deep conditioning treatment, I wanted to detangle my hair so I could get the oil through it easily.  It was rather more tangled than usual, and I’m still having quite a bit of fall-out which makes the process a little more difficult.

For comparison, I divided my hair in half and used my wide-tooth horn comb on one side, and the Tangle Teaser on the other.  The side with the comb took about 5 minutes to get it completely detangled.  The Tangle Teaser worked through the tangles much quicker, but it was difficult to get it through the thicker parts of my hair.  I had to divide the half into more sections to make sure I didn’t miss anything in the middle.  It felt quite good on my scalp…. when I could feel it.  Again, I had to divide my hair into sections, especially around my crown area where the hair is thickest, to be able to reach my scalp with the brush.  Then, I felt the need to do a once-over with the comb to make sure I got it all (because the teeth of the comb will reach all the way through my hair).  Because of all this, it ended up taking just as long as using the comb, and (in my opinion) was more trouble.

My conclusion:

  • I think it may work well as part of a process…. such as using the Tangle Teaser when I encounter a knot during the combing process.
  • If you have issues with tangles, do give it a try!
  • You may like it better than I do if you don’t have really thick hair.

tangle teaser

2 responses

  1. I have yet to try the tangle teaser, but I have heard that it can be damaging to people with thicker, more textured hair, like myself. What do you think?

    February 4, 2014 at 4:04 pm

    • I don’t know how damaging it may be, since I’ve only used mine 2 or 3 times since receiving it about 6 months ago. I’m not a fan of brushes in general because they can be very damaging to the hair. If you have a good gentle detangling routine that works well for you, the Tangle Teaser doesn’t seem needful.

      However, if a person has hair that is extremely prone to tangles, I can see how the Tangle Teaser would be good for them. It would definitely be a much better option than just ripping through the knots (whether with a comb or brush).

      I’ve been told it’s especially useful for children who aren’t patient enough for someone to gently work through their knots with a comb.

      February 4, 2014 at 4:44 pm

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers