everything I've learned about growing, maintaining, styling, and loving long hair

time to find a new conditioner, yet again

I cannot even begin to express my frustration!  Why?  WHY?!?!  do companies insist on changing their formulas if everybody loves it the way it is?  I know I’ve ranted about this on here before.  This happens to me on a regular basis.  I find a conditioner that I love.  My hair responds perfectly, it looks and feels amazing.  I use it exclusively for a couple of years.  Then I walk into the store and see a new label on it, or a newly designed bottle, and my heart sinks.  I know that a new container means a new and “improved” formula.  Just let me say, it is never an improvement.  The new label is a signal for me to look for a new conditioner.

ytcu_conditionerYou may remember my post about Yes to Cucumbers conditioner.  I started using it just about 2 years ago.  I’ve loved every minute of it.  There has been nothing about it I did not like.  When I saw the new bottle, I immediately read the ingredients to be sure that they had not added cones (that’s the most common change).  Nothing stood out to me.  I was hoping for the best.  But…….  About half way through the new bottle, I noticed my hair starting to feel waxy.  I took note of it, but my hair was still behaving pretty well so I let it go.

Then, last week, I had the most horrible experience!  I went to put my hair up, finger-combing to pull it back.  I was startled as my fingers caught on the biggest tangled mess I think I’ve ever had in my hair!  I’m not exaggerating.  There was a matted knot at the base of my head that was 2-3 inches across.  My hair does not tangle.  As curly and long as it is, I’ve never had issues with tangles!  Being on the back of my head, I couldn’t see what I was doing and it took me quite some time to detangle it.  I was beginning to wonder if I would have to cut some of it out.  Gladly, I didn’t.  Only a couple of days later, after washing my hair as usual, I noticed that my hair felt sticky as it was air drying.  I tried to put gel on and it just literally stuck to my hands.  I could hardly get gel through it because of it.  The drier it got, the worse it felt.  It felt stiff and would not curl at all!  It was turning into a huge frizzy sticky mess!  And I was due to leave in an hour for my friend’s birthday celebration!  I became so frustrated that I cried!  I finally gave up and decided to wash my hair again, even though I knew it would still be dripping wet when I left.  I washed it twice with a mixture of shampoo and baking soda to strip it, then applied conditioner.  It felt and looked much better after that.

I really do not want to continue using this conditioner.  I had bought two bottles because there was a sale, but be assured I will be taking the second bottle back for a refund.  I don’t have an old bottle to compare the ingredients and see what they changed.  They still have the old one for sale on their website, along with the new one.  They have the same ingredient list for both.  Maybe it updated for all the products, rather than just the new ones.  I don’t know.  But I know they did change something, because the conditioner itself looks different.  I also sent a complaint to the company and left a negative review on their website.  Apparently, I’m not the only one dissatisfied with it.

2 responses

  1. Jo

    Don’t you hate when they do that? If something works and people are happy why change it? I totally hear you on that one!

    April 24, 2013 at 10:32 am

  2. I feel for you! It’s happened to me before… Hope you find a new one that works better! :)

    April 24, 2013 at 1:42 pm

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers