everything I've learned about growing, maintaining, styling, and loving long hair

hair everywhere!

I remember a story a long haired friend told about how her coworker found one of her hairs in his house.  She had never, ever been in his house.  Thinking back, he remembered that he had sat in her desk chair for a few minutes one day at work.  Apparently one of her hairs that had been on the chair attached itself to his clothing and hitched a ride home with him.  She said “It’s a good thing he wasn’t murdered, I might have been blamed when they found my hair on the scene!”

Probably the biggest annoyance to me that comes with having long hair is that you find it everywhere.  Evveryyywheeeerrre.  Because the hairs are so big, they’re noticeable.  They’re easy to find.  Or more like… it’s easier for them to find you!  They lurk in the carpet and wrap themselves around your toes.  They thread themselves through your clothing and drop off at inopportune moments (like in the kitchen).  They collectively sabotage your drains and vacuum cleaners.  It seems that no matter how hard you try, no matter how diligent you are about disposing of them, they still end up everywhere.

I have found a few ways to help in this area.  I used to have to clean out my shower drain about once a month simply because it would stop draining.  What I pulled out looked like a drowned mouse and smelled like death.  Because of that, I started sticking my loose hairs to the shower wall during my shower.  IMG_5441Any hairs that I find on my hands or stuck to my body will go on the shower wall.  I detangle my hair in the shower, so I get a ton.  It ends up looking like this —> by the time I’m done.  (this is an actual pic of my shower)  After my shower, I simply wipe my hand across the wall to gather up all the hair and drop it in the trash.  It may seem gross, but it’s not near as gross as the dead mouse drain thing.  I also have one of these, draina drain strainer, to catch anything that I don’t.  It even traps my husband’s hair which is only a couple inches long!  You can pick one up somewhere like Walmart.  There are different options for drain shapes and sizes.broom

Another indispensible item in our house is a rubber broom.  Several years ago, my mom saw one in a magazine and decided to give it a try.  With three long haired people living in the house, it was part of our regular vacuuming routine to sit and dig hair out of the vacuum cleaner!  We hated that so much!  I’m telling you, this broom will find more hair than you ever imagined was lurking in your carpet.  And it will pick up more hair than your vacuum will.  You can also use it on your furniture or in your car.  I bought mine online at simplygoodstuff.com, but they’re available on several different sites.

I hope these little tips will help you out.  Let me know how it goes for you.  If you have any more suggestions for capturing these rogues, please share!

4 responses

  1. I stick my hairs to the shower wall too and it has made an incredible difference!

    I find that brushing my hair before I take a shower and getting as much of those loose hairs out of my mane before I hit the water also helps.

    April 12, 2013 at 10:48 am

    • Brushing/combing beforehand is a great idea for the straight haired ladies! With my curls though, it’s a lot more trouble than it’s worth. :)

      April 12, 2013 at 11:43 am

  2. Lin

    Thanks for the broom recommendation. My hair isn’t too long but it’s falling out at an incredible rate and my daughter has waist length hair. So to say we have hair problems when we vacuum is an understatement. I ordered one. I hope it works for us!

    September 13, 2014 at 3:30 pm

    • I hope it works for you too. Glad I could help.

      September 13, 2014 at 4:05 pm

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers