everything I've learned about growing, maintaining, styling, and loving long hair

my hair lately

 
     My hair has actually been behaving exceptionally well lately.  It obviously loves the cold weather!  The temperatures have been low enough to be cold outside, but not enough to need much artificial heat inside.  We’ve only needed to run our heater at home about 3 days so far this winter because, as usual, it’s been up and down between 20 and 70 degrees.  The artificial heat kills my hair!  It makes it so dry and static-y.  I like it like it is right now.  I’m not that much for cold weather anyway….
 
     I trimmed my hair yesterday.  I noticed that it was getting very uneven again.  One little section on the right in the back grows faster and healthier than the rest.  I have no clue why or how this happens.  It was more than an inch longer than the rest!  So I trimmed it to match, and trimmed the rest of it just a tiny bit (about 1/4 inch or less). 
     Also, I was pleased to notice that some of the shorter parts are catching up.  The top layer has about 3 inches to go before it’s the same length as the under side.  I’ve never had my hair layered, but it appears that way because of the severe breakage a few years back.  I’ve been gradually trimming the shape into less of a V and more of a U.  I want to go gradually to just a little curve.  I don’t like it to be completely straight across, just not a deep V. 
     I started cutting it that way to begin with because the left side was significantly shorter than the rest. (as in this picture)  When I discovered how to self-trim in a V or U, I decided to go with it because it would improve the appearance without actually taking off any length. 
 
     One other thing…..  I have started drying my hair in a different way.  I’ve done something similar to this a few times before, not knowing it was an actual technique until I read about it the other day.  Ok, I don’t do this every time because it’s still a bit awkward and sometimes I just don’t want to spend the extra time and effort.  But it really does make the curls more bouncy and formed.  One problem: it seems to amplify the differences in texture as some parts of my hair curl up tighter than others.  When I dry it this way, the corkscrew parts curl really tight and then the parts that are only wavy look out of place.  Maybe I’ll be able to perfect the technique.  I’m still working on it. 
What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 59 other followers